International Antisemitism Awareness Month

International Antisemitism Awareness Month2018-08-30T17:00:37+03:00


On May 26, 2016, in the spirit of the Stockholm Declaration, the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) Plenary adopted the following non-legally binding working definition of antisemitism:

“Antisemitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities.”


The International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) consists of 31 member countries, 24 of which are EU member countries.

To date, the following governments and bodies have officially endorsed the IHRA definition:
Austria (25 Apr 2017)
Bulgaria (18 Sep 2017)
Germany (20 Sep 2017)
Israel (22 Jan 2017)
Lithuania (24 Jan 2018)
London, City of (08 Feb 2017)
Romania (25 May 2017)
Scotland (27 Apr 2017)
United Kingdom (12 Dec 2016)